Union Internationale de la Marionnette

Non-Governmental Organization affiliated to UNESCO


The international jury named Marcos Nicolaiewsky (Brazil) as the winner of the UNIMA Young Authors Award. His text, “Customs”, was chosen from a selection of pieces by six finalists. Marcos Nicolaiewsky received the UNIMA trophy, an amount of 2000 €, a prize-winner’s diploma and will see his text staged in four separate productions from four continents on the occasion of the 90th anniversary of UNIMA. The five other finalists have received a finalist’s diploma.

The finalists are:

  • Prénam Bénédicte Ahé from Togo – Africa,
  • Daniel Ginebroza Condé from Spain – Europe,
  • Karolina Sadowska from Poland – Europe,
  • Chelsea Sutton from the United States – Americas,
  • Guillaume Taurines, from France – Europe.

The international jury, chaired by Margareta Sörenson (Sweden), was made up by Haydée Boetto Bárcena (Mexico), Etienne Minoungou (Burkina Faso), Ignacio Del Moral Ituarte (Spain), Clément Peretjatko (France), Kamini Ramachandran (Singapore), Marek Waszkiel (Poland).

The jury members made their choices without knowing anything about the source of the texts or the names of the authors. A total of 29 proposals were received from 20 countries across 4 continents: Armenia, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Egypt, France, Greece, Haiti, Hungary, Italy, Norway, Poland, South Africa, Spain, United States, Taiwan, Togo.