Logo UNIMA

Union Internationale de la Marionnette

Non-Governmental Organization affiliated to UNESCO

News from UNIMA: News

UNIMA, an international meeting point at the Charleville-Mézières puppet theatre festival

UNIMA was present at the 2023 World Festival of Puppet Theatres, where the association organised various events enabling members from all over the world to meet around common themes and a convivial drink. A great international meeting place which welcomed nearly 500 people over 4 days. The delegation from Chuncheon, led by UNIMA South Korea […]

Read more

In Memory of Jane Taylor

News, Professional Training - 19/09/2023

It is with great sadness that the Unima International Research Commission acknowledges the passing of Professor Jane Taylor, a renowned South African writer, playwright, cultural critic and academic widely known for her long career in the field of puppetry and object performance and critique. Jane was a member of the Research Commission until 2022. She […]

Read more

Workshop – Interaction and dialogue between shadow theatre and projected video image

Organised by the Latin American Subcommission of the Americas Commission, and the Professional Training Commission of UNIMA International. Friday 29/9 and Saturday 30/9, via personalised Zoom (the link will be sent once you have registered for the workshop). Schedule: 11am Argentina / Uruguay / Brazil / Dominican Republic 9h Ecuador / Colombia 8h Mexico (Mexico […]

Read more

Michaël Meschke Prize 2023

Europe, News, Notices - 13/08/2023

On Saturday, June 24th, 2023, Roman Rudenko, director of the Marionette Theater of Mariupol, Ukraine, received the Michaël Meschke Prize at the Museum of Puppetry Arts (MAM) in Lyon. In 2022, this Prize had been given to Iryna Rudenko and her theater “in support of the revival of the Marionette Theater of Mariupol and its […]

Read more